The beginning of classes

Classes have officially started at the University of Botswana. It feels so early, but I’m completely ready. It’s comforting to establish a routine and keep busy. I got my schedule (timetable, as they call it) on Monday. We only had to wait one hour. That may be a record on Botswana time! One of the UB classes I wanted to take suddenly isn’t being offered, but I am enrolled in three others, which is all I need. Then there are also the CIEE classes, but those don’t start until next week. I’m taking Religions of Botswana, Basic Toxicology, and Psychology of Child and Adolescent Development. All three will transfer back to WKU, so I feel a lot better knowing I got into them.

Monday I only had the religion class. I actually got pretty lost trying to find my classroom. I asked three people for help and no one knew where the building was! All of the buildings have numbers instead of names, which just seems more difficult to me. I eventually found it, but the professor didn’t even show up. We were warned, but it was still hard to believe. Afterwards, I had lunch at the Currypot Refractory. They apparently don’t start serving lunch until they feel like it, so we had to wait for a while. Then I decided to go to the mall with one of my friends named Ryan. It felt good to go shopping, like some remnant of being at home. I bought a new towel and we found a department store called Woolworths that had a little grocery in it. I bought some super yummy snacks and Ryan and I shared a fruit salad- that’s a big deal! We had to get a cab home since we had so many shopping bags. Overall, it was a pretty great day!

Today wasn’t as great, but I survived. I got to sleep in until 10 since Toxicology wasn’t until 2. The teacher showed up and even handed out a syllabus and I can understand his English pretty well. It was actually a little overwhelming. I’ve heard so many rumors about the African education system being a complete joke, but I’m not so sure anymore. We have tons of assignments, research papers, and exams. It’s actually a junior level class, so I’m a little nervous about it being too advanced, but I think I’m going to stick it out! We get to go on a tour of a chemical factory and I really want to go! There are several group projects, which makes me nervous because it’s so hard to communicate with other students. But I know that’s just another part of the experience. After I had lunch (fries!!!), I went to go get my student ID made. Now that was an adventure. I had to wait in a long and unorganized line, only to find out my name was spelled wrong in the system. They didn’t tell me when to smile, so I look extremely upset and like I’m 12 years old. Oh well. I had to try to get my name fixed and ended up getting sent to 7 different places. No one had any idea what to do! I got so frustrated, I eventually just gave up. I guess I’ll try again tomorrow. I came home via combi and got stuck in insane rush hour traffic. The combi randomly decided to take a different route, so I got a little lost and freaked out, but I made it home. I had dinner with my host family and got to Skype with my mom, which was a great way to end the day.

I’m definitely getting more used to the city and the lifestyle, though it’s still pretty difficult to adapt. I didn’t have to sleep in a sweatshirt last night, so my body may be adapting too! I’m looking forward to the rest of my classes! My little sisters turn 14 tomorrow and I’m pretty upset about being so far away, but hopefully they’ll forgive me. I promised to bring back lots of awesome souvenirs 🙂

(My internet isn’t fast enough to upload pictures to my blog, so check my Facebook album)

One thought on “The beginning of classes

  1. Hey Jamie
    Love reading your blog! Sounds SO interesting and you are going to love your experiences. Jeff and i send ((hugs)) and kisses! Headed to London tonight-do u have viber? We can text & talk for free if you have wifi?:)
    Love you
    RS

Leave a Reply

